Become a Qualified Lifesaver

Enfield Life Saving Club is affiliated with Royal Life Saving. Learn CPR, lifesaving skills and experience rescue situations.



Life Saving Qualification

Royal Life Saving Awards training is offered at Enfield Life Saving Club. The club is affiliated with Royal Life Saving Society Australia (RLSSA), NSW Branch and offers training and examination for the Royal Life Saving Awards.

In training for RLSSA Awards, members of Enfield Life Saving Club are given the opportunity to learn lifesaving skills, rescue and water safety techniques and resuscitation (CPR). Members may attain RLSSA Awards including Swim and Survive Levels 1 to 7, Bronze Star, Bronze Medallion, Bronze Cross, Grey Medallion and Resuscitation (CPR). These Awards can also contribute towards the Duke of Edinburgh program.

Award training takes place throughout the season and is carried out by experienced and qualified coaches. Enfield Life Saving Club also trains for, and participates in, Simulated Emergency Response Competition (SERC). Enfield Club’s pool-based training covers rescue and lifesaving techniques for both pool and open water situations. 

Royal Life Saving offers a number of lifesaving programs and Awards through schools, pools and community groups and clubs. The Awards can be achieved progressively by people of all ages and abilities. Lifesaving skills learnt and developed through the programs are highly regarded in the community and may even lead to or enhance the chances of starting a career.

The central component of Royal Life Saving’s Awards is the Bronze Medallion which has been operating for over 100 years with many Australians undertaking the program since commencement. The Bronze Medallion is considered the pinnacle of the Awards in the community. Holders of the Bronze Medallion Award are recognised as having gained a minimum standard as a qualified lifesaver. 

Further information about the bronze criteria is available in the useful information section


Bronze Medallion

Aim: To develop the level of knowledge, judgement, technique and physical ability required to carry out safe water rescues.

Prerequisites: Minimum age is 14 years or in the year in which the candidate turns 14. It is advantageous if candidates hold the Senior Swim and Survive and Bronze Star Awards.

Theory: Safe water practices; survival in the water; self-preservation; recognising an emergency; assessment before and during a rescue; priorities for rescue; CPR theory; acceptance of responsibility; use of bystanders; emergency care and contacting emergency services.

Practical: (includes) the ability to perform effective Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR); 400 metres swim; timed tow; survival and rescue skills; management of spinal injury; and rescue initiatives.


Learn to Save Lives

Lifesaving training is a skill for life.